How Many Tds In Ireland?


How many TDs are there in Dublin?

Current constituencies

Constituency Seats
Dublin West 4
Dún Laoghaire 4
Galway East 3
Galway West 5


How many TDs do Sinn Fein have?

Sinn Féin has 37 TDs in the Dáil Éireann (lower house) (most recent election in 2020):

Who is the longest serving TD?

Longest-serving former TDs

Name Party Dáil Service
Neil Blaney Fianna Fáil/ Independent Fianna Fáil 46y 11m
Thomas McEllistrim Anti-Treaty Sinn Féin/ Fianna Fáil 45y 10m
Séamus Pattison Labour Party 45y 8m
Seán MacEntee Sinn Féin/ Fianna Fáil 45y 6m


How many female TDs are there?

As of July 2021, a total of 131 women have been elected to the Dáil.

Who is the current Ceann Comhairle?

Ceann Comhairle

No. Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
19. Seán Ó Fearghaíl (born 1960) Incumbent


How many TDs does Limerick have?

Limerick County is a parliamentary constituency that has been represented in Dáil Éireann, the lower house of the Irish parliament or Oireachtas, since the 2016 general election. The constituency elects 3 deputies (Teachtaí Dála, commonly known as TDs).

You might be interested:  FAQ: How Much Cash Can I Lodge In Ireland?

Why do Sinn Fein not take seats at Westminster?

SDLP MPs have consistently taken their seats in Westminster, in contrast to Sinn Féin MPs, who refuse to take their seats there. Sinn Féin MPs believe that as British political institutions should play no part in governing the people of Ireland, they as MPs should not make decisions on behalf of British people.

How many green TDs does Dail have?

Composition of the 33rd Dáil

2020 general election
Party Apr. 2021
Fine Gael 34
Green 12
Labour 6


How many Green Party TDs are there?

In the 2020 general election, the party had its best result ever, securing 12 TDs and becoming the fourth largest party in Ireland.

How much is a TD salary?

The basic salary of a backbench TD is €96,189. Cabinet ministers and junior ministers receive additional allowances. Office-holders (opposition party leaders, whips, the Ceann Comhairle, and Leas-Cheann Comhairle) also receive additional allowances.

How many TDS are there in Fine Gael?

Composition of the 32nd Dáil

Party Feb. 2016 Jan. 2020
Fine Gael 49 47
Fianna Fáil 44 45
Sinn Féin 23 22
Labour 7 7

How many senators are in the Seanad?

Under Article 18 of the Constitution, Seanad Éireann consists of 60 senators, composed as follows: Eleven nominated by the Taoiseach.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post