Often asked: Where Is The North West Of Ireland?


What towns are in the north west of Ireland?

Below we have drawn up a list of our favourite attractions of the northwest.

  • 1 Slieve League Cliffs. Top Attraction.
  • 2 Sligo Town. Top Attraction.
  • 3 Donegal Town. Top Attraction.
  • 4 The Glengesh Pass. Great for Returners.
  • 5 Errigal Mountain.
  • 6 County Leitrim.
  • 7 Maghera Beach and Caves.
  • 8 Glencolmcille Folk Village.

What counties are in northwest Ireland?

On my first two trips, I traveled pretty extensively around this beautiful country (and the Antrim coast/Belfast in Northern Ireland ) but have not visited the northwest counties (Mayo, Sligo, Donegal).

Is Galway in the North West?

Galway (/ˈɡɔːlweɪ/ GAWL-way; Irish: Gaillimh, pronounced [ˈɡal̠ʲɪvʲ]) is a city in the West of Ireland, in the province of Connacht. It is the county town of County Galway, which is named after it. Galway.

Galway Gaillimh
• LEAs 3
• Dáil Éireann Galway West
• European Parliament Midlands– North – West
You might be interested:  Readers ask: How Much Is A Child's Passport In Ireland?


Where should I go on the west coast of Ireland?

Top 10 things to see along the west coast of Ireland

  1. Killarney National Park, Co. Kerry – for an enchanting experience.
  2. Aran Islands, Co.
  3. Achill Island, Co.
  4. Dingle, Co. Kerry – for a picturesque seaside town.
  5. Benbulbin, Co.
  6. Glenveagh National Park, Co.
  7. Burren National Park, Co.
  8. Mizen Head, Co.

What part of Ireland is British?

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK), since 1922, comprises four constituent countries: England, Scotland, and Wales (which collectively make up Great Britain), as well as Northern Ireland (variously described as a country, province or region).

Is Donegal in Northern Ireland or Ireland?

County Donegal

County Donegal Tyrconnell Contae Dhún na nGall / Contae Thír Chonaill Coontie Dunnygal / Coontie Dinnygal
Country Ireland
Province Ulster
Dáil Éireann Donegal
EU Parliament Midlands–North-West


What are the 4 counties of Ireland?

Since the early 17th century, there have been four Provinces of Ireland: Connacht, Leinster, Munster, and Ulster.

What is the smallest county in Ireland?

The smallest county in Ireland is county Louth, which is just 820 km² in area – 9 times smaller than county Cork. The next smallest is county Carlow, which is 896 km².

What is each county in Ireland known for?

All 32 nicknames for the 32 counties of Ireland

  1. Wicklow – the garden county (also the Garden of Ireland )
  2. Wexford – the model county.
  3. Westmeath – the lake county.
  4. Waterford – the crystal county.
  5. Tyrone – O’Neill country.
  6. Tipperary – the premier county.
  7. Sligo – Yeats country.
  8. Roscommon – mutton chop county.
You might be interested:  Readers ask: How Are Commercial Rates Calculated In Ireland?

Is Galway Protestant or Catholic?

After the 17th century wars, Galway, as a Catholic port city, was treated with great suspicion by the authorities. The corporation, which ran Galway was also confined to Protestants. This is all the more surprising given that a 1762 census showed that of the town’s 15,000 or so inhabitants, only 350 were Protestants.

What is the biggest town in Galway?

Clifden is the largest town in the region. Galway City is also home to Ireland’s only Irish-language theatre, Taibhdhearc na Gaillimhe.

Is Ireland or Northern Ireland part of the UK?

Northern Ireland is a distinct legal jurisdiction, separate from the two other jurisdictions in the United Kingdom (England and Wales, and Scotland). Northern Ireland law developed from Irish law that existed before the partition of Ireland in 1921.

What is the most dangerous city in Ireland?

DUBLIN city had the highest crime rates in Ireland last year, with gardaí in Louth and Waterford also investigating more offences than the national average per 100,000 of population.

What cities are in western Ireland?

Urban areas

Rank Town Population (2016 census)
1 Galway 79,934
2 Castlebar 12,068
3 Ballina 10,171
4 Tuam 8,767

What is on the west coast of Ireland?

The long west coast of Ireland – stretching from Donegal’s Inishowen peninsula south through rugged Sligo, Mayo, Galway and Clare to the windswept Kerry coast and swinging east again to the gentle, fertile landscapes of east Cork – encapsulates some of the best and most dramatic aspects of the Irish landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post